Movie Review: The Black Panther

black-panther-jason-black-onyx-truth

By J.C. Spencer

Last Thursday, the first major black superhero movie was released. It is called Black Panther. According to The Guardian, the new movie earned $235 million over the four-day President’s Day holiday weekend. The character was first released (in films) on the set of Captain America: Civil War. According to The Tennessean, many people are creating fundraisers to allow children to see this amazing film.

Marvel says that it was the second highest four day opening, in all of movie history. According to Rotten Tomatoes, Black Panther is Certified Fresh at an outstanding 97%. This even ties Casablanca (1942) and is higher than The Shawshank Redemption (1994), but still can’t beat The Godfather. If you haven’t seen it yet, then you probably should!

 

Author: warriorwordljhs

I teach intervention study hall during my mornings and instruct 7th and 8th graders in ART for the afternoon. I love my work. I am a mom of 2 college students. I truly enjoy the outdoors and walking my dog, Cocoa. I am excited to lead the online newspaper this 2019-20 school year and "grow" awesome writers here at LJHS. Go Warriors!

Leave a comment