The Age Old Question: Which are Better….Dogs or Cats?

By Liam Schram


Over time there has been many arguments about whether dogs or cats are better. Some like the loving affection of the cat, and others may like the playfulness and energy of the dog, some people like both. In this article I am going to tell you about the pros and cons of getting a cat, and the pros and cons of getting a dog.

Let’s, get started with dogs shall we? For years people have always said “A dog is a man’s best friend,” but is that true? According to the website Statista, as of 2017 there were 89.7 million dogs in the United states. That is a huge amount of dogs. The average lifespan of a dog is 10 to 13 years. The average sleep time of a dog is 12 to 14 hours as an adult, and the average height from the shoulders is 2.5-42 in. Dogs live quite a long time and can range in size, making these pets a perfect addition for any family. 

People say that all cats are mean, but that isn’t always true. The total population of cats as of 2007 was 37 million. The average amount of cats per household is 2.2 cats. Cats can weigh up to roughly 10 pounds. Cats sleep up to 12-16 hour a day…THAT’S INSANE. This shows if you like to be be lazy, I would say a cat is the pet for you. Cats get a bad reputation sometimes for being mean, but they just aren’t as fun loving as dogs and that’s okay. 

 

Dogs and cats are great animals, both having good things and bad things that come with them. Which do you prefer? 

Author: warriorwordljhs

I teach intervention study hall during my mornings and instruct 7th and 8th graders in ART for the afternoon. I love my work. I am a mom of 2 college students. I truly enjoy the outdoors and walking my dog, Cocoa. I am excited to lead the online newspaper this 2019-20 school year and "grow" awesome writers here at LJHS. Go Warriors!

Leave a comment